Order with combination discount (from 4 events) >>> follow this link

Golden Twenties


Tínel Ensemble
Sun 26/05/2024 - 11:00

Ticket prices

€ 10 - € 6 (-26 years)

check our reductions

The six twenty-somethings of the Tínel Ensemble perform works by classical masters such as Mozart, Prokofiev and Khatsjaturyan, written when the composers themselves were only in their twenties. The Ensemble is a product of the Leuven LUCA School of Arts. Critics praise them for their dynamic interplay and youthful interpretation. Variation is their great asset: on stage you can see both duos and the full sextet at work.

The youthful ensemble focuses on all types of instrumentation, consisting of strings, clarinet and piano. This variation is their great asset and makes their concerts unique: on stage you can see both duos and the full sextet at work. Critics praise the Tínel Ensemble for their dynamic interplay and youthful interpretation. As a group they took lessons with international names such as the Quatuor Van Kuijk, Roeland Hendrikx, Elisa Kawaguti and Jan Vermeulen. This young force expresses with passion his love for music in which their friendship is central.

Mozart's String Quartet No. 15 belongs in a series of six string quartets that Mozart dedicated to Joseph Haydn. In Mozart's time it was quite unusual to dedicate works to friends or colleagues, music was normally written for the aristocracy. Mozart wrote this quartet at the age of 27 in 1883 when his wife Constanze had just given birth to their first child. Constanze later wrote that Mozart voiced their baby's crying in the opening of the second movement.

Aram Khatchaturjan wrote the Trio for clarinet violin and piano at the age of 29, while still a student at the Moscow Conservatory. Characteristic of this trio are the influences from Eastern European folk music. The Eastern European melodies provide a rousing atmosphere, yet the work ends in great austerity.

When Sergei Prokofiev arrived in America in 1918, he was contacted by the 'Zimbro Ensemble', six Jewish people in their twenties who were touring the US. They gave Prokofiev a notebook with Jewish folk melodies as inspiration for a new composition. The play premiered in 1919. The 28-year-old Prokofiev then played as a guest pianist with the Zimbro Ensemble in New York.

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, String Quartet No. 15 in D minor, KV 421
  • Aram Khatsjaturjan, Trio for clarinet, violin and piano, op. 30
  • Sergei Prokofiev, Overture on Hebrew Themes, op. 34

More info


with An-Sofie Perneel (violin), Victor Van Gorp (violin), Saar Vanbergen (viola), Eva Van den Broeck (cello), Kian Janssen (clarinet) and Jef Kolacny (piano)