Wind players on top


Meraki Wind Quintet
Sun 21/04/2024 - 11:00
Daytime Show

Ticket prices

€ 10 - € 6 (-26 years)

check our reductions

A varied programme with very American-inspired music by Antonín Dvořák and Samuel Barber, performed by five driven wind players who have found one another across various conservatories. This young ensemble has already won many awards. Another performance we highly recommend. For this concert, we move to the beautiful premises of M Leuven.

Samuel Barber was commissioned by a chamber music ensemble from Detroit to write Summer Music.

For this purpose, he reused previously composed, unreleased material. Originally, it was intended for 3 woodwind instruments, 3 string instruments and a piano, but through collaboration with a fellow horn player, it evolved into a basic piece for wind quintet. It is a lyrical to energetic piece.

Dvořák wrote his famous American string quartet Op. 96 during his stay in New York. Here, we hear it in an arrangement by David Walter for wind quintet.

Meraki Wind Quintet, founded in 2020, brings together five young musicians driven to explore the wind quintet repertoire and form their identity as a musical ensemble. They play a varied repertoire with both classical pieces and modern arrangements.
As a fairly new and young ensemble, Meraki is already adept at performing in chamber music competitions. This has resulted in a number of chamber music awards in the Classic Pure Vienna International Music Competition 2022 (Special Prize), the IMC International Music Competition 2023 in Paris (1er Prix à l'unanimité), the Euterpe Music Awards 2022 (Gold prize), the Fanny Mendelssohn International Online Competition 2022/23 (Second prize) and the London Classical Music Competition 2022 (First prize).

  • Ibert - Trois Pièces Brèves deel 1 (2’)
  • Barber - Summer Music for Woodwind Quintet (11’)
  • Holst - Jupiter, the bringer of jollity arr. LaMoure (8’)
  • Dvorak - Quintet F-major Op.96 "American" Quintette a vents arr. David Walter (24’)

More info

with Liesl Vanoverberghe (flute), Jonas Schoups (oboe), Bram Vanoverberghe (horn), Rob Laethem (bassoon) and Laurens Jonckheere (clarinet)