Quatuor Ardeo: Carole Petitdemange (violin) - Mi-Sa Yang (violin) - Yuko Hara (viola) - Joëlle Martinez (cello)

Felix Mendelssohn

Zomer van Sint-Pieter 2023
Tue 08/08/2023 - 12:15

Ticket prices

  • € 6 ticket (programme guide included)
  • Pass 5 tickets: € 27 (€ 3 reduction) - Pass 10 tickets: € 52 (€ 8 reduction) - more info
  • free for children under the age of 13 (accompanied by an adult)
  • € 1,20 with UiTPAS social rate - no other reductions

Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
String Quartet
, op. 44 No. 1

The three quartets of Mendelssohn’s Opus 44 are generally regarded as mature works. He wrote them between 1837 and 1838 and was quite proud of them: in his opinion they were “a hundred times better” than anything he had written before. About the first quartet he wrote to violinist Ferdinand David: “I like it very much. I hope it may please you as well. I rather think it will, since it is more spirited and seems to me likely to be more grateful to the players than the others.”

More info