Infinite Dances/Leuven

A new ritual for the city

Michiel Vandevelde
Mon 25/07/2022 - 21:10
free
Mon 29/08/2022 - 20:10
free
Mon 26/09/2022 - 19:05
free
Mon 31/10/2022 - 18:00
free
Mon 28/11/2022 - 16:10
free
Mon 26/12/2022 - 16:10
free
Mon 30/01/2023 - 17:00
free
Mon 27/02/2023 - 17:55
free
Mon 27/03/2023 - 19:40
free
Mon 24/04/2023 - 20:35
free
Mon 29/05/2023 - 21:15
free
Mon 27/06/2022 - 21:40
free
Dance
Free
This event is free

How do we give place to loss, mourning, death?
In recent years, we have been increasingly confronted with the issue of taking leave and the need to do so in a meaningful way.

Not only the current health crisis makes us more aware of our mortality, but also many other phenomena such as suicide, conflicts and climate change prompt reflection.

On Monday June 27, we will launch a new initiative in the city: Infinite Dances.

With Infinite Dances, Michiel Vandevelde builds further on Dances of Death, a dance performance that premiered in early 2021. The material of this performance is based on 3 videos, which Vandevelde inherited from his mother, on which she dances.

With Infinite Dances, Michiel Vandevelde creates a dansant commemoration ritual. He harks back to rituals that help other cultural communities deal with mourning, loss and death. Infinite Dances wants to bring warmth and comfort to the community that is the city through physical togetherness.

Leuven amateur dancers learned the choreography and will perform the dance every month on Herbert Hooverplein in Leuven.

For one year, every last Monday of the month, at dusk, the ritual will be performed. We start on Monday 27 June at 9.40 PM at Ladeuzeplein Leuven.

 You are very welcome to witness it.

More info

Infinite Dances is a coproduction of 30CC and Michiel Vandevelde.