muziek van Brahms, Pärt en Glazoenov

CAROUSEL Chamber Music Ensemble
Sun 02/10/2022 - 11:00
Concert, Classical
Daytime Show

Ticket prices

€ 12 - check our reductions

Brussels ensemble CAROUSEL has brought together young exceptional musicians around renowned Belgian clarinettist Annelien Van Wauwe. She is already one of the most fascinating and original clarinettists of her generation. Her expressive and lyrical interpretations always succeed in captivating the audience.

With Rêverie, the CAROUSEL ensemble presents several masterpieces from classical music. The clarinet quintets by Brahms and Glazoenov will transport you to an intense dream world where emotions, passion and melancholy seem to be eternal. Fratres by Arvo Pärt constitutes the meditative interlude between these grand quintets.

Johannes Brahms composed his Clarinet Quintet in 1891 for the famous clarinettist Richard Mühlfeld.

When Brahms began composing his clarinet quintet, very few pieces for this type of ensemble had been created. This melancholy work is regarded as one of the highlights from the chamber music repertoire and is on a par with Mozart’s well-known Clarinet Quintet.

Fratres ("brothers" in Latin) is a piece of music by Estonian composer Arvo Pärt. Written in 1977, it is a three-part work without fixed instrumentation. This mesmerizing set of variations on a six-bar theme combines frantic activity and sublime stillness and reconciles instantaneity with eternity.

Dating from 1886, Glazunov’s Rêverie Orientale is an emotional work reminiscent of the Orient’s exotic character as experienced by European Russians at that time. It refers to places such as Bukhara and Samarkand.

  • Johannes Brahms, Clarinet Quintet in B minor, Op. 115
  • Alexander Glazunov, Rêverie Orientale for clarinet and string quartet
  • Arvo Pärt, Fratres (version for string quartet)

More info


with Annelien Van Wauwe (clarinet), Alexandra Soumm (violin), Nicolas Dupont (violin), Mihai Cocea (alto viola) and Louis Rodde (cello) photo Joëlle Van Autreve