Trio Hélios: Alexis Gournel (piano) - Eva Zavaro (violin) - Raphaël Jouan (cello)

Lili Boulanger - Gabriel Fauré

Zomer van Sint-Pieter 2024
Fri 12/07/2024 - 12:15

Ticket prices

  • € 8 ticket (programme guide included)
  • Pass 5 tickets: € 36 (€ 4 reduction) - Pass 10 tickets: € 70 (€ 10 reduction) - more info
  • free for children under the age of 13 (accompanied by an adult)
  • € 1,60 with UiTPAS social rate - no other reductions

Lili Boulanger (1893-1918)
D’un soir triste
D’un matin de printemps

Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924)
Trio for piano, violin and cello, op. 120

Shortly before her death in 1918, Lili Boulanger composed these two pieces which, like the title of one of her melodies, Elle est gravement gaie, represent the two sides of her psyche. Despite their contrasting characters, they share the same three-beat rhythm, the same modal harmonic colour and, above all, the same melodic theme.

The Trio op. 120 by Fauré demonstrates his harmonic virtuosity and characteristic lyricism. A subtle combination of melancholy, tenderness and refinement, it reflects the composer’s mature, introspective style towards the end of his life.

More info